Info

BmoreOpinionated Podcast

Two Baltimorons discussing sports, culture, food, and giving some much deserved love to their hometown. Irreverent stories, offbeat interviews with stars, and the best sports coverage. A weekly series.
RSS Feed
BmoreOpinionated Podcast
2017
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: 2017
Jun 21, 2017

Another exciting episode of B-More Opinionated, even with our own Jerry Coleman on assignment in Sarasota!

Jason and Jerry talk about attending Ravens' OTA's, the Orioles' and their continued apparent indecision on what direction they're going, plus much more.

We're also proud to welcome former Baltimore Stallions GM Jim Popp. Following the untimely passing of former Stallions head coach Don Matthews, Jason and Jim reminisce about one of the most exciting and magical runs any sports franchise in this city has seen. Between low budgets and dilapidated team facilities, the Stallions still managed to bring a CFL championship to Baltimore -- the only non-Canadian team ever to accomplish that feat -- and led to the NFL's return to Baltimore.

 

And as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy rant, and our minor league player of the week.

Jun 15, 2017

It's a jam-packed BMO Show this week, as we have not one but two guests... and a rant for the ages.

First we cover the Ravens', catching up on the addition of Jeremy Maclin, and talking Dennis Pitta's injury and future potential of the receiving corps with Joe Flacco.

We also sit down with a Ravens legend, Hall of Fame lineman Jonathan Ogden to talk his mentorship of Ronnie Stanley, as well as his relationship with the Ravens and the city of Baltimore.

Then, we change topics to something that has been brewing for months on this podcast: Jason LaCanfora's official (well-prepared!) case to fire Orioles' GM Dan Duquette. Jason fully recaps Duquette's tenure in Baltimore and discusses exactly why the move cannot wait.

Finally, Academy Award winning filmmaker Barry Levinson joins the pod to let off his own steam about the Orioles, as well as his recent and upcoming film projects with HBO!

Jun 7, 2017

While the Orioles continue to throw Triple-A pitchers into high leverage situations and the Ravens lose key playmakers in meaningless practices, we catch up with the most undercovered Baltimore sports story today!

Christos F.C., your favorite local semi-pro soccer club, have played their way from the beer league to competing in the U.S. Open Cup with MLS giants D.C. United. Team Captain and lead striker Pete Caringi III joins the pod and talks about the less than improbable road that has led Christos F.C. to serious cup contention.

Jason LaCanfora and Jerry Coleman also discuss the difficult week at The Castle, where the Ravens lost CB Tavon Young for the year, and TE Dennis Pitta -- potentially for his career. Meanwhile Dan Duquette and the Orioles' developmental strategies (or lack thereof) remain a thorn in the side of many fans -- particularly those co-hosting the podcast.

And as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, our Minor Leaguer of the Week, and much more!

Jun 1, 2017

As the Orioles look to put the month of May behind them, we at B-more Opinionated have taken it upon ourselves to talk about the tough decisions the O's front office faces -- with a Duquette, no less!

Former O's & Mets executive, Analyst on MLB.com and MLB Network Radio, and Dan's own cousin Jim Duquette joins the show to discuss the process of developing talent, what options the team may have via trade, and their chances with looming free agents such as Manny Machado.

Jason La Canfora and Jerry Coleman go further in depth on the birds' woes, as well as our Minor Leaguer of the Week, Jerry's homework assignment, and Jason's married-guy rant!

May 26, 2017

With the news of the NFL rolling back punishment for excessive celebrations after touchdowns, we at the BMO Show felt it was only appropriate that we brought on one of the biggest experts on the NFL's hypocrisy: Chad Johnson.

Ochocinco goes into detail with Jason and Jerry about his unique relationships with Roger Goodell, Marvin Lewis, and other memories from his playing days against the Ravens.

We also check in on the sputtering Orioles as Baltimore looks to recover from a bad case of Ubaldo.

As always, we also get into Jerry's homework assignment, Jason's married guy rant and Minor Leaguer of the week, plus much more!

May 18, 2017

On a double-stuffed episode of BMore Opinionated, we are joined by legendary columnist and co-host of ESPN's Pardon The Interruption, Mike Wilbon to help us rag on DC sports -- while also bringing perspective in terms of where the Wizards and Capitals go from here.

We're also joined by the only living trainer of a Triple Crown-winning horse, Bob Baffert. Bob discusses life after winning it all with American Pharaoh last summer, his love for Baltimore, and the future of the vaunted (yet dilapidated) Pimlico Raceway.

And, as always, we are packed to the brim with O's talk, our Minor Leaguer of the week, Jerry's homework, Jason's married guy rant, plus much more! Don't miss it.

May 11, 2017

On another jam-packed episode of the BMO Show, Ravens' top draft choice Marlon Humphrey joins the show to talk about the draft process from his perspective, as well as getting acclimated with the team, just how much (or little) knowledge or communication he had with the team before his selection, and more!

Plus, Jason and Jerry recap another week in Orioles' baseball as the birds are still jostling for best record in the American League. We catch up with our buddy Trey Mancini, discuss possibilities regarding another friend Hyun Soo Kim, and the continuing evolution of a Britton-less bullpen.

And as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy rant, and our new O's Minor Leaguer of the Week!

May 3, 2017

On the other side of the 2017 NFL Draft, Jerry and Jason are back to discuss everything about the Ravens' selections. The guys spar over the Ravens mentality and their decision to forego offensive weapons in the draft (3:00) before we welcome in the team's Assistant General Manager, Eric DeCosta (14:00). Eric and Jason go pick by pick for the birds, and discuss some of the tough decisions the team faced throughout the draft including O.J. Howard, Ryan Anderson, and others! Plus get the lowdown on how the team sought after Marlon Humphrey, Tim Williams, and the rest of the 2016 draft class.

We're also talking Orioles, Adam Jones and the indefensible Red Sox fans (38:00); Jason's married guy rant, Coleman's homework... And last but certainly not least, learn the degrees of separation between Uncle Jerry and supermodel legend Elle Macpherson (I guarantee it's less than you think). It's a packed show on this week's episode of BMore Opinionated!

Apr 26, 2017

Jason and Jerry are back to discuss a big week in Baltimore sports. First, we gear up for this week's NFL Draft -- going over every possible Ravens option in the first rounds one more time, and then cover the rest of the division's draft forecast.

The guys also touch on Manny Machado's dust up with Dustin Pedroia and the Red Sox, another week in O's action, plus Jason's latest trip down to the farm to check in on a rehabbing Chris Tillman.

And saving the best for last, the one and only Ken Rosenthal of Fox Sports joins the show to talk Orioles' front office, the looming Manny decision, dealing with O's fans, and if the birds' bubble may be bursting.

Tune in for much more including Jerry's homework, Jason's married guy rant, and a check-in on our old friend Jhon Peluffo! Don't miss it.

Apr 20, 2017

Jerry and Jason open the show discussing the latest Ravens' draft possibilities (3:10), and debate Adam 'Pacman' Jones' latest run-in with the media (10:15). The guys then move on to talk about the week's Orioles-related news before being joined by the Iron Man himself, Cal Ripken Jr. (31:00). Cal discusses 25 years of Camden Yards, the current state of the O's, and even the resting of NBA players. Also in this episode: Jerry completes(!) his homework for the week, Jason's married guy rant, and more!

Apr 14, 2017

Jason and Jerry digest the first week of Orioles action before talking Ravens' draft plans ahead of the upcoming draft. Could the Ravens be setting up a smokescreen by specifically naming WR's Mike Williams and John Ross? Jason La Canfora thinks the Ravens could find a different 1st Round pass-catcher. Homework, Married Guy Rant, and much more! Crack a couple Natty Boh's hon and enjoy this abbreviated edition of Bmore Opinionated.

 
Apr 5, 2017

Camden Yards got one hell of a celebration for turning 25 this year and opening day was as exciting as any O's fan could have asked for. Senior VP of Planning and Development for the LA Dodgers, Janet Marie Smith, was one of the minds behind the design and construction of our beloved ball park so the guys call her up to get the best history lesson of the stadium available.

Mar 31, 2017

Baseball is on Bmore's mind so the guys talk O's and play GM\Manager.  They even put a wager on a certain roster move that begins being paid out on this episode.  Follow @bmoshowpod to find out what the deal is.  Jason brings the latest from the NFL owner's meetings, including a little hangout with Coach Harbs, and the guys call up Will Likely to talk about the draft.

Mar 22, 2017

You never get a better perspective on a team's locker room than from a guy who just left it.  The All Pro fullback, Kyle HugeCheck, gives you his take on what it's like being a Raven.  Plus O's, Terps, and you know.

Mar 16, 2017

The newest Raven was in town for a press conference and got a little more than he bargained for with the semi snow storm... We're going to go ahead and blame that storm for stealing some of the quality of the conversation but you still get to know Tony better before he dons the purple and black.  The main attraction this week: Coleman finally completed his Orioles related homework.

Mar 10, 2017

Free agency is moving fast so the guys needed to get Bmore their update at the right time.  Who has all the latest news and rumors?  Bmoreopinionated's own, JLC.

Mar 1, 2017

The O's are actually playing games... kind of... So Jerry trekked to Sarasota to catch up with the team, including Jason's favorite member of the organization.  The Florida trip also hooked the podcast up with an Oriole legend with some unbelievable stories about his time with the club, Don Stanhouse.

Feb 23, 2017

The guys have been talking about this ever since their trip to the Warehouse... John Angelos makes his second appearance and he delivers his unique perspective on his team, the world of baseball, and well...the world.  The Executive Vice President of the Orioles is always very generous with his time on the pod, so the guys get all of the usual business out of the way first then dive deep with John.

Feb 15, 2017

The former All Star shooting guard for the Baltimore Bullets and current Wizards broadcaster breaks down the Wiz's season like few can.  He also gets historical about the days of the franchise being in Baltimore and his life in the city.  The guys would never leave out Bmore's two true organizations, and really focus on their offseason.

Feb 8, 2017

The Baltimore Legend drops by now that football season is in the books to talk about LI, his time in Bmore, and what the future holds for him.  Unlike some of his peers as a player, Ed did not seek as much publicity and rarely sat down for full interviews with the media, but he did not mince words with the guys.  You have to hear some of his takes on the state of the NFL.

Feb 2, 2017

The guys switch roles this week as Jason is on the road instead of Jerry.  The events of both of their recent trips come up as topics, but the guys focus on what's going to go down in Houston and how the teams in MD are doing, whether they are playing or not.

Jan 27, 2017

Bmore has been getting a taste of spring weather, so the guys get ready for bat cracks and called strike three's with one of the O's top prospects, Trey Mancini.  He has a lot of fun with the guys talking about his stint in the show, his offseason, and his role coming into Spring.

Jan 18, 2017

What's working behind the scenes to bring our favorite Bmore sports teams into our homes on all the different platforms we have available to us?  A former marketing exec for the O's and Rangers, Marty Conway, joins to shed some light on what drives the marketing engine and what the future could hold for Baltimore's franchises.

Jan 12, 2017

The new year is supposed to bring hope and new beginnings, and all of Baltimore was hoping for that with their sports teams.  Bart Scott sheds some light on what to expect from the Ravens after hearing the brass talk about the off season.  More of the same to come in Bmore?  The guys break it all down for you.

1