Info

B-more Opinionated!

Two Baltimorons discussing sports, culture, food, and giving some much deserved love to their hometown. Irreverent stories, offbeat interviews with stars, and the best sports coverage. A weekly series.
RSS Feed
B-more Opinionated!
2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Dec 14, 2017

It's an age of existential crisis when it comes to Baltimore sports. The Ravens lose a heartbreaker to the Steelers in frustrating fashion, the Orioles are (finally) coming to their senses as fans start to grasp the idea of a post-Manny Birdland.... and we're talking it all!

 

We start with a full recap of Sunday Night's epic matchup (4:05), and preview the scariest game vs. a winless opponent this city has ever seen.

 

Then, we discuss the news coming out of MLB's Winter Meetings that the Orioles are fielding offers for superstar Manny Machado... a year too late for our liking, but what can you do? (26:00)

 

Our guest this week calls in from none other than the Winter Meetings itself, as Mark Feinsand of MLB.com -- formerly of the NY Daily News -- talks all things AL East in the Winter Meetings. (34:45)

 

And as always, we have Adam's homework assignment, Jason's Married Guy Rant, and a whole lot of Jerry being Jerry... check it out!

Dec 8, 2017

As the Ravens gear up for prime time rivalry week, Jason and Jerry recap Sunday's big win, Jimmy Smith's woes, and look ahead to Sunday night vs. the Steelers!

 

Then, we're privileged to be joined again by former Ravens running back Ray Rice.

Ray goes into detail about his work as a speaker, coach, and the rest of his life away from the playing field. As always, Ray is amazingly humble, candid, and accountable. Ray also shares his perspective on Colin Kaepernick's circumstance as someone who also has never gotten to work out with a team -- let alone get the chance to start again in the NFL. We also talk Ravens, mental wellness, building a post-playing career life, and more.

 

As always, we have Jason's Married Guy Rant, Adam's homework, and some Orioles talk hon!

Nov 30, 2017

While the Ravens continue to sputter towards a likely pointless playoff push, we take a step back and see how falling fan enthusiasm is sending waves through Baltimore.

 

After recapping Monday Night Football's partially-attended yawn'er, we're joined by our old friend Johnny Crabcakes of Jimmy's Famous Seafood to talk about how business based around Ravens games and fans have fallen off and why. (14:00)

 

Then, we're thrilled to be joined by Lions linebacker Brandon Copeland -- whose story you'll have to hear to believe. From Baltimore's Gilman School to the Ivy League to Wall Street to the NFL, Copeland's a pretty remarkable human who does Baltimore proud every day. Don't miss one of our best interviews yet! (30:45)

 

And as always, we have Jerry (and Adam)'s homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, and our predictions for this week's game! Don't miss it, hon!

Nov 22, 2017

Happy Thanksgiving from B-More Opinionated!

 

After a rough stretch heading into the Bye week, the Ravens bounced back with a vengeance on Sunday against the Packers. Our own Jason La Canfora and Jerry Coleman break down the shutout victory and what it means for the team's playoff hopes.

 

The boys then look ahead to the Ravens' Monday Night Football matchup against the Texans, and look around at the rest of the AFC and see what the Ravens' have in store ahead.

 

Then, Jason and Jerry touch on the latest with the O's as the team locked in its protected minor leaguers on the 40-man roster this week -- with one notable omission that we revisit from our interview with Orioles Manager Buck Showalter.

 

And as always we have Jerry (and Adam)'s homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, and more.

 

Bring BMO Show with you on your Thanksgiving travels! We are thankful every week for Natty Bohs, Otterbein's Cookies, Bob Bell Nissans, and listeners like you!

Nov 17, 2017

As the Ravens wrap up their Bye week, there are still plenty of questions swirling around 'The Castle.'

 

Jason and Jerry spend time discussing former-Raven Dennis Pitta's comments about the team's offense and QB Joe Flacco's limitations within it. [5:30]

 

The boys also go into what the Ravens need to solidify in the final stretch to make the most of an unexpected (undeserved?) realistic shot at the playoffs.

 

Our own Jason La Canfora goes more into detail about the latest on Jerry Jones, as well and Colin Kaepernick saga -- particularly those in and around the Ravens' organization who are likely to be affected by the ongoing lawsuit. [14:20]

 

Then, we're privileged to be joined by former NFL Wide Receiver Donté Stallworth. Since retiring from football, Donté has been a part of many meaningful discussions with both Congress and the NFL about racial inequality, criminal justice reform, and activism as both a professional athlete and a concerned citizen. [19:40]

 

We also go into the latest Orioles' rumors stemming from this week's GM Meetings, including Zach Britton's trade market and the search for starting pitching. [48:40]

 

As always, we have Jerry (and Adam's) homework assignment, Jason's Married Guy rant, this week's Ravens picks, and much much more!

Nov 9, 2017

As the Ravens head into a much-needed bye week, Jerry and Jason have taken it upon themselves to review the team at this crucial checkpoint!

 

To help, we brought in the likes of Head Coach John Harbaugh, Terrell Suggs, Mike Wallace, Breshad Perriman, and WR coach Bobby Engram. You'll hear clips from all of them as we lift the curtain on an NFL open lockerroom media availability.

 

The boys also revisit our great interview with Buck Showalter one week removed, and talk a little Orioles as Free Agency officially opens in baseball.

 

As always, we have Jerry (and Adam's) homework, Jason's Married Guy rant, and more!

Oct 31, 2017

It's a jam-packed episode this week, as we are privileged to be joined by Orioles manager Buck Showalter! (28:00)

Buck opens up candidly about his views on the organization's depth, development, roster building philosophies and more! He goes into detail about his view on Starting Pitching following his rotation's tough season (29:00), the importance of being able to better develop homegrown pitching (31:30), looking to insert athleticism and youth into his defense (34:00), the idea that the proverbial window is closing (35:45), other quality managers losing their jobs (37:15), the progress of top prospect Chance Cisco (41:15), and even joins in our frustration about the lost talent in poor trades over recent years (44:30). This is an absolute must-listen for any Orioles fan.

 

The boys also discuss at length the Ravens' pleasantly surprising drubbing of the Dolphins on Thursday Night Football, the Ravens' place in the playoff picture (15:08), and our own Jason LaCanfora goes in-depth on Jerry Jones' recent tantrums with the NFL League Office (21:10).

 

As always, we have Jerry (and Adam)'s homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant (with a bonus 50-year-old Guy Rant from Jerry), and this week's picks! Don't miss it!

Oct 26, 2017

Another week of the B-More Opinionated podcast means another week of trying to identify the problems of the Ravens' inept offense! Jason and Jerry open the show talking all-things Ravens, including their short week looking ahead to Thursday Night Footbal vs. Miami.

 

Then, Ravens legendary linebacker Bart Scott joins the show (30:45) to share his take on the Ravens, the quality of NFL's on-field product, how he would fare if he were still in his prime, and more!

 

And of course, what would an episode of the BMO Show be without checking in on our beloved O's? Jason and Jerry discuss a new crop of pitching coaches that have recently come available (46:20).

 

We also have Jerry (and Adam)'s homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, and our picks for Thursday Night Football. Check it out!

Oct 19, 2017

Following the Ravens frustrating loss at home against daaaa Bearz [3:45] Jason and Jerry try to figure out how the Ravens can improve, then look ahead to the team's week 7 matchup in Minnesota.

Our guest this week will be featured in a new way, as our own Jason La Canfora kicks off what will become a new standalone series in the BMOShow family. In the wake of the U.S. Men's Soccer Team's failure to qualify for the World Cup, Jason will be holding longform conversations with a variety of insider guests who can help put a diagnosis on what has gone wrong in U.S. Soccer. [31:45]

Baltimore-native Santino Quaranta, a former U.S. National and current youth development extraordinaire, joins Jason to talk at length about any and all shortcomings of the current American soccer system - from the socioeconomics of youth development to strategy in last week's travesty in Trinidad & Tobago.

As always, we have Jerry (and Adam)'s homework [1:15:00], Jason's Married Guy Rant, and our official picks for Week 7. Check it out!

 

Oct 11, 2017

As the Ravens make their way back east after a much-needed win in Oakland, Jason and Jerry recap the victory and look ahead to this week's matchup with daaaa Bearz.

 

We're joined this week by longtime NFL Front Office Exec. Scot McCloughan to help run through the Ravens' key spots on the roster, and provide some insight on some other players from around the league that Scot has had a hand in developing.

 

Also, our own Jason La Canfora goes into detail about his bombshell interview from over the weekend.

 

As always, we have our Married Guy Rant, weekly predictions, and Homework -- featuring the on-mic debut of our ruthless intern, Adam. Tune in!

Oct 5, 2017

As one season rolls into the station and another seems to be coming off the rails, B-More Opinionated has all the bases covered!

 

First, Jerry and Jason recap the weekend's big Ravens-Steelers matchup. The boys then deconstruct the Ravens' 2-2 start, as our own Jason LaCanfora leaves no stone unturned when pointing out the team's fatal flaws.

 

Then, as the Orioles' season mercifully ends with a whimper, it's time for end-of-season grades. Our guest, former O's great Ross Grimsley, pulls no punches when laying out what *should* be the bird's plan of action.

 

And as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, and much more!

Sep 27, 2017

As the Ravens look to recover from being chased around by Werewolves--err-Jaguars in London, the Steel Curtain is making its way to Baltimore!

 

In honor of this huge matchup, we bring in our resident expert on the most brutal rivalry of the last 20 years in football -- former Steelers Head Coach and the NFL Today's own Bill Cowher!

 

Bill helps the guys digest the Ravens' stomach-turning loss across the pond, gives some insight on the Steelers' letdown against Chicago, and shares more of his expert knowledge on... potato chips?

 

Plus, as always we have Jerry's homework assignment, Jason's Angry Married Guy Rant, and our official picks for Week 4! Check it out.

Sep 20, 2017

As we here at B-more Opinionated get ready for the Ravens' big game in London, we've been listening to British Invasion music, watching Monty Python, catching up on some Premier League... and talking to the highest authorities of NFL's International efforts!

We're joined by Mark Waller, Executive Vice President of NFL International, to discuss the Ravens' contingent of fans in the U.K., the NFL's increasing efforts in Europe, England's reception of the sport, and even her majesty The Queen's take on the game.

 

Jason and Jerry also talk the Ravens' impressive 2-0 start, the O's not-so-impressive performance, and more!

 

As always we have Jerry's (pawned off) homework, Jason's Angry Married Guy Rant (a redux), and our picks of the week. Don't miss it!

Sep 14, 2017

We are officially back in the swing of things with football season in full effect!

Jason La Canfora and Jerry Coleman give a full postmortem on the Ravens impressive 20-0 shutout in Cincinnati, talking dominating defense and a cautious Joe Flacco. Then, we look ahead for the team's Week 2 home opener against the Browns.

Meanwhile, Orioles baseball is still drudging along and Jason has another loud and clear message for our beloved directionless birds.

DJ Durkin then joins the show to talk the University of Maryland's phenomenal start to the season, recruiting, and more!

As always we have Jerry's homework, Jason's married guy rant, and more!

Sep 7, 2017

As we count down the days to the start of the 2017 season, it's time to whip out our fortune teller hats! It's time for your OFFICIAL B-More Opinionated Ravens Season Preview!

 

Jerry Coleman and our very own NFL access merchant Jason La Canfora preview every regular season game, talk about the strengths and weaknesses on all sides of the ball, and determine where the Ravens will be standing at the end of the season. Will there be big changes in 2018 for the team? The boys discuss it all.

 

To cap off our preview, we caught up with friend of the show Jimmy Smith (44:00) to talk about one of the clear strengths of the team going into the new season -- the DB corps.

 

We also talk about another nail-biting week for the Orioles, the big Terps upset, Jerry's (incomplete) homework, Jason's married guy rant, and more!

Sep 1, 2017

As we enter one of the most crucial months of the sports calendar, B-More Opinionated has all the bases covered!

First we discuss the (finally!) surging Baltimore Orioles! The O's are in the midst of a crucial homestand and are rolling as they look to scratch and claw through September to a playoff berth.

Then the boys talk John Harbaugh's incredulity and other Ravens' questions and concerns as the NFL wraps up its preseason.

Phil Simms also drops in with Jason to talk more about Joe Flacco's injury, the Ravens, and moving from the booth to the studio.

 

And of course, as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy Rant, our minor leaguer of the week, and much much more!

Aug 25, 2017

B-More Opinionated is back from Summer hiatus with a jam-packed episode, featuring Ravens of past and present!

 

We open by talking the same old, same old Orioles and the team's festivities for the 1992 team, including audio from Mike Mussina and Glenn Davis.

 

Jason caught up with Torrey Smith while on his training camp tour and he joins the pod for 5 good minutes, talking the transition to Philadelphia and his mentor Anquan Boldin's retirement.

 

Then, we're joined by Ravens rookie standout Timmy Williams, who raises the curtain on rookie life at 'The Castle', his experience with the Crimson Tide, and much more!

 

And as always, we have Jerry's homework (a rare COMPLETED two-parter), Jason's married guy rant.... and drama over t-shirts? Tune in to hear more!

Aug 17, 2017

It's the B-More Opinionated 75th Episode Extravaganza!!

With both Jason and Jerry away from the 4-1-0 for work and leisure, we at the BMOShow thought it would a good time to look back on some of our favorite interviews!

We revisit the best snippets from some of our favorite guests such as John Angelos, Adam Jones, Justin Tucker, Ed Reed, Chad "Ochocinco" Johnson, Barry Levinson, and Tony Kornheiser.

Of course, there are some clear omissions... but we gotta leave some meat on the bone for the future!

Once again, we at B-More Opinionated want to thank YOU, the listeners, for supporting the show from Day One. Use this episode to help guide you back to some of our best episodes, and be sure to check out these episodes in full. Jason and Jerry provide original release dates for each of the interviews featured.

Tweet us some of your favorite moments so far @BMOShowPod and tune in next week for another fresh edition of B-More Opinionated!

Aug 7, 2017

Muggsy Bogues joins the pod ahead of ESPN's 30 for 30 special, "The Boys of Baltimore." The diminutive giant of Baltimore basketball talks the unprecedented and one-in-a-million story of the 1981-1983 Dunbar High School team that would not be stopped.

We also talk an encouraging week at Camden Yards ahead of the O's trip out west, the Ravens' growing infirmary, and catch up with journeyman Tight End Phillip Supernaw whose life was a revolving door at The Castle in Owings Mills before finding his footing with the Tennesee Titans.

 

Plus we have our Minor Leaguers of the Week, Jerry's homework, Jason's married guy rant, and more!

Aug 3, 2017

As we recover from the deafening silence of the Orioles' trade deadline, the boys try to digest "No Plan Dan" Duquette's lack of activity, the Ravens' multiple cases of foot-in-mouth, and more!

First, Jason and Jerry lay into the O's front office for sitting on their hands at the deadline (4:20), and try to figure out where the team goes from there.

Then, as the Ravens continue to try to recover from the injury bug, John Harbaugh and Steve Bisciotti are dealing with a self-made PR battle regarding the potential addition of Collin Kaepernick in the wake of Joe Flacco's achy back. (22:00)

To help distract us from all the drama in Bmore, Miami Dolphin's Head Coach Adam Gase talks to Jason about marrying into a true Maryland family as he regails us with stories from Ocean City, MD, his father-in-law Joe Vitt, and more!

And, as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy rant, and plenty of other banter. Check it out!

Jul 26, 2017

As we wrap up what seems like our months-long preview of this ever-important trade deadline for the O's, we bring in yet another one of baseball's finest writers to give final insight on what the rest of the league anticipates from the birds.

Buster Olney of ESPN.com and the Baseball Tonight podcast makes his BMOShow debut (16:30), sharing the perspectives of rival GM's on Dan Duquette's "plan," mentoring a young Jason LaCanfora at the Baltimore Sun, as well as life on the farm... No, not Aberdeen or Delmarva, but an actual dairy farm!

Plus, the boys preview the start of Ravens camp (45:35) as the team looks to compensate for roster losses due to injuries and otherwise.

And as always, we have Jerry's homework, Jason's Married Guy rant, our minor leaguer of the week... as well as some bonus storytime with Coleman that will surely elicit many facepalms.

Jul 20, 2017

We at B-More Opinionated are the conductors of the "Sell! Sell! Sell!" train when it comes to the Orioles, and this week we bring in a longtime MLB General Manager to help explain how to best handle this trade deadline in Baltimore.

MLB Network's Dan O'Dowd, former GM of the Rockies and Indians, joins the pod to grade some of our proposed trades, explain some of the logic behind the front office's decisions thus far, and where to go from here for fans across Birdland. (36:30)

Later on we catch up with Ravens' all-pro Kicker Justin Tucker, who hosted a youth football camp at Patterson Park -- Jason's old stomping grounds! (56:30)

Plus as always, we have our Minor Leaguer of the week, Jerry's homework, and a very Coleman-esque Married Guy rant from Jason.

Jul 14, 2017

As we enter the second half of what's been a turbulent year for the birds of Baltimore, it's time to give our mid-season grades! Jason and Jerry break down the performance of each Oriole from Schoop, Trey, and Manny.... all the way down to the Norfolk shuttle. (5:00)

John Eisenberg of BaltimoreRavens.com also joins the show to talk all things Baltimore sports along with his new book, "The Streak: Lou Gehrig, Cal Ripken Jr., and Baseball's Most Historic Record." John explains his process of putting the book together, comparing and contrasting Gehrig to Ripken, and also shares his insight on the state of the O's as well as the Ravens in a fantastic conversation. (42:00)

We also talk to Jerry about his quest to hunt down bigfoo--I mean John Daly at Caves Valley this week on the PGA Champions Tour, Jason gives a major update on LeVeon Bell's situation in Pittsburgh, plus much more!

 

Jul 6, 2017

On the other side of the Fourth and now comfortably into summer, we at B-More Opinionated continue to soldier through another rough week of Orioles baseball. As the trade deadline inches nearer every day, the guys continue their hope that the team doesn't fool themselves into being buyers.

While the O's struggle in the big leagues, they're sporting some shining sources of optimism down on the farm. BMO Show was lucky enough to catch up with top outfield prospect, Bowie Baysox CF Austin Hays! Austin talks about life in the minor leagues, his aspirations going forward, and his approach during his monster first half this year across multiple levels.

As always we catch up on Jerry's latest homework assignment, a slimy Married Guy Rant, and our Minor Leaguer of the Week (besides Austin Hays, of course!)

Jul 6, 2017

On the other side of the Fourth and now comfortably into summer, we at B-More Opinionated continue to soldier through another rough week of Orioles baseball. As the trade deadline inches nearer every day, the guys continue their hope that the team doesn't fool themselves into being buyers.

While the O's struggle in the big leagues, they're sporting some shining sources of optimism down on the farm. BMO Show was lucky enough to catch up with top outfield prospect, Bowie Baysox CF Austin Hays! Austin talks about life in the minor leagues, his aspirations going forward, and his approach during his monster first half this year across multiple levels.

As always we catch up on Jerry's latest homework assignment, a slimy Married Guy Rant, and our Minor Leaguer of the Week (besides Austin Hays, of course!)

1 2 3 4 Next »